By Gary Newton

Australia’s premier four-year-old event The Chariots of Fire was first run in 1995.

Won by some of the biggest names in Australasian harness racing such as Holmes DG, Lazarus, Christen Me, Lombo Rapida, Elsu, Caribbean Blaster, and recently Poster Boy and Better Eclipse.

This year’s edition to be run on March 2 looks to be an event for the ages Kiwi’s Don’t Stop Dreaming (Bettors Delight) and Merlin (Art Major) look to do battle with Queensland star Frankie Ferocious (Captaintreacherous).

The last 10 running’s of the Chariots have seen Bettors Delight sire three winners with Art Major, Captaintreacherous, Rock N Roll Heaven, Somebeachsomewhere, Four Stazzz Shark, and Artsplace all sired one winner.

New Zealander Barry Purdon has won four Chariots Of Fire since its inception Gingerman (1995), Franco Hat Trick (1998), Holmes DG in 1999 and Our Sky Major in 2015, he will be attempting to make it five when Merlin competes in 2024.

Frankie Ferociuos- Photo courtesy of Club Menangle.