Fred Jones Trotters Cup- a feature on the SA calendar.

Fred Jones one of the influential figures in South Australian Harness Racing was born in 1924 and passed away in June of 2011 but his legacy lives on today.

Jones played a part in the golden age of South Australian harness racing and was the first South Australian to receive recognition from the Australian Harness Racing Council when he was honoured in 1995 with a distinguished service award.

He was a member of the Australian Harness Racing Council (now Harness Racing Australia) and the Interdominion Harness Racing Council for six years.

He sat on the State Harness Racing Board for eight years and was president of the Breeders, Owners, Trainers, and Reinspersons Association (BOTRA) for seven years.

Honoured with life membership of the SA Harness Racing Club, the SA Harness Racing Board, SA BOTRA as well as the Square Trotters Association.

Jones was a key player in making sure the square trotter had a place in South Australia he was instrumental in the 1980’s, when he was on the Control Board, by making sure standing start races were held in the country as well as at Globe Derby.

Upon his passing in 2011 Harness Racing SA in conjunction with SA Square Trotters Association introduced the SA Fred Jones Country Trot Cup which has become a feature event on the South Australian Calendar it has been won by some of the best square gaiters in the state including Rejuvenation who won the event twice in the same year 2017 Me An Kel is also a dual winner of The Fred Jones Cup winning in 2013 and again in 2015, SA trotting Cup winner Pocketfullofcash also claimed the Fred Jones in 2016, Kitsilano (2020) Millys Magic (2021) and last year Uncle Louis.

Saturday night at Globe Derby Park this year’s event has drawn a full field of 12 plus an emergency including the winners of the last two seasons Uncle Louis and Millys Magic will take on the inform trotters My Used To Be winner of his last three starts and Aldebaran Dexta who has won 6 of his last 7 starts.

Media personality Bruce McAvaney a lifetime friend of Fred Jones donates a rug to the winner of the event each year, and the trophy for the race is donated by Jones’s nephews Matt & Brad Jones.


MILLYS MAGIC winner of the 2021 Fred Jones Trotters Cup-Photo by Walter Bulyga